Since its debut in 2011, Uberthons has consistently worked to upgrade the racing experience, from the instant individual results available on the Internet to the inspirational finisher’s medals that showcase the best that Oregon has to offer to medals for overall, Masters, and Seniors winners and pins for age group winners. Now in its ninth year of staging races, Uberthons announced its first ever Hall of Fame member and its inaugural group of Runners of the Year at the recent Winter Half Marathon/Quarter Marathon/5K Event.

Hall of Fame

The first ever member of the Hall of Fame is Eileen Kuffner, whose first Uberthons race was the Run for Kyron way back in November 2011. Eileen soon joined the Uberthons family as a volunteer, serving as a warm-up announcer for races (and then of course running the races herself). More recently, she has been the cheerful face of Uberthons at the results kiosk, helping runners check results on the touchscreens and handing out age group winner pins. Eileen has since become an indispensable presence at Uberthons events, and is the ideal initial member of the Uberthons Hall of Fame.

Articles by Tung Yin, an Uberthons Ambassador

Eileen Kuffner

Hall of Fame Recipient

2018-19 Runners of the Year

Uberthons also picked 20 Runners of the Year, who received personally engraved plaques at the Winter Event. What does it take to be selected as a Runner of the Year? No, it’s not about winning races, although all Uberthoners are winners for eating right and exercising. The Runners of the Year represent local (and not so local) runners who have been the most dedicated Uberthoners over the past two years, participating in nearly all (or even all) of the Uberthons races during that time. Like Eileen, the Runners of the Year have become part of the extended Uberthons family. Keep showing up at Uberthons events, and you could find yourself a Runner of the Year in the future!

Laura Bright

Julie Clancy

Carol Denning

Geraldine Faessler-Gray

Wendy Faull

Karen Gehne

Julie Green

Danielle Gross

David Hume

Linda Johnston

Kristina Kilgour

Ed Lipski

Jennifer Maki

Leslie McLeod

Ruby Norris

DuWayne Olson

Kathy Payne

Liz Stamps

Carrie Strong

Tung Yin